If you do not want a pre-defined system field to be displayed under Students or Staff, you can de-activate it. You cannot completely delete a system field.
To de-activate a system field, navigate to  Settings > System Fields. On the system fields page, use the toggle button under the  Actions to make a field inactive/active.
Note that once a field is disabled, it will not be visible to any of the staff users.